Archives: Timeline Slider

Timeline Slider


Otto's Train The iconic Otto’s Train has offered rides to families since 1953. The Iron Pony was replaced in 1974 by a Burlington 3000 replica. Both trains were built by Augie Otto of Sandwich. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz.


Hog Barn Built in 1904, the Hog Barn was featured on the 2004 pin to celebrate its 100th birthday. Additions were made to this building in 1922 and 1956. A covered show ring was added in 1985. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz.


Home Arts Building The Home Arts Building appears for the third time on the Fair pin! Fairgoers were treated to birthday cake to celebrate this building’s 100th birthday. Over the years this building has been called Floral Hall, Industrial Hall, Women’s Building, and presently the Home Arts Building. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz.


Dairy Barn The Dairy Barn dates back to 1880. It's the oldest building in use on the Fairgrounds. In 1925, it was moved 30 feet to the east. An addition was added in 1992, and a lean-to in 1996. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz.


Secretary's Office Built in the same year, the Secretary’s Office was featured on the 2007 pin. It is located on the southeast corner of the Fairgrounds and used year round by the Fair Secretary, staff, and directors. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz.


Cornucopia The cornucopia shown on the 2008 pin boasts prize winning produce exhibited at each Fair. Today’s premium book lists over 500 open and junior entry choices in the horticulture department. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz.


Antique Farm Machinery Gas engines and farm machinery have been on display at the Fair for over a century. The 2009 pin reminds fairgoers of days gone by. Gas engines and antique farm machinery are displayed inside the train track. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz.


Tractor Pulls Fans have attended the popular tractor pulls held at the Fair since 1965. The pulls originally took place in front of the grandstand on the racetrack. A new 300 foot track was installed in 1997, just inside the racetrack. The 2010 pin shows one of these sophisticated pulling tractors. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz.


Ticket Office For the second time, the original Ticket Office was featured on the 2011 pin. Built in 1897, it was located at the Main entrance on Suydam Road just around the bend from the present Secretary’s Office. It is now located at Gate 5. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz.


Original Secretary's Office To celebrate the 126th Sandwich Fair, the original Secretary’s Office is featured on the 2013 pin. There are many displays of Fair memorabilia and collections. Drawing by Jackie Dannewitz